Our Latest News

Non-Fiction Book Awards to boost your PR

June 16 2017

Book Awards can play a major role in promoting your book and building your credibility. Participating in prestigious awards not only creates an opportunity for wider media coverage and recognition, but can also distinguish you from other authors to boost your reputation in your field and within the literary community.

So, we thought we’d share some recommended Book Awards that could enhance your publicity, and contribute to the continued success of your book in the future:

1. The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-fiction

This award aims to reward the best works of non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel and autobiography. It is arguably the most prestigious non-fiction award in the UK, with a £30,000 prize for the winner. The award’s reputation ensures authors are often highly commended for their participation and so gain credibility. Open to authors of all nationalities, this award gives writers the opportunity to extend their audience, whilst further solidifying their reputation.

2. The Wellcome Book Prize

Established in 2009, this book award focuses on creating interest about medical science. Fiction and non-fiction books are eligible, providing the book revolves around aspects of medicine, health or illness. The award aims to encourage public debate and awareness about medicine as it is a prevalent topic that impacts most of our daily lives. As it is a narrowly focused award, it gives medicine, health and wellbeing authors a great chance to gain publicity and secure a wider audience.

3. Young Writer of the Year Award

This award encompasses all works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry by a British or Irish author aged under 35. It has recently gained attention and acclaim across the publishing industry and is an extension of Warwick University’s commitment to the support of literary work, emerging writing talent and creative industries. This award gives young, aspiring authors the opportunity to excel, develop and promote their work with the support of a leading UK University.

4. The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-fiction

Focusing on authors engaged in their first commissioned works of non-fiction, this award gives emerging writers the opportunity to increase their recognition and create possibilities for new research and ideas. It provides first-time, non-fiction authors with the confidence to continue writing, as well as giving them sufficient credibility and a reputation that will contribute to the success of any future works they decide to embark upon.

5. The British Book Awards

The British Book Awards celebrate the success of publishers, authors, and bookshops. It looks at possible contenders for book, publisher, and retailer of the year to ensure all aspects of book creation is incorporated and commended. There are six categories, which ensures a wide range of competition: children, debut fiction, fiction, non-fiction (lifestyle), non-fiction (narrative), and crime/thriller. The award praises the whole book writing process, ensuring writers obtain significant distinction
and recognition for their innovation and creative journey.

6. The Non-fiction Book Awards

Although an American award, international submissions are encouraged, accepted and valued. This award organisation is committed to elevating the status of non-fiction books in order to convey its importance. With around 200 categories, writers can enter numerous specialist genres that will distinguish their work. Participating in this award can substantially raise the credibility and promotion of a non-fiction book, whilst emphasising the authors international success and recognition, all of which will ensure wider media coverage and success.

7. William Hill Sports Book of the Year

Sponsored by bookmaker William Hill, this award is an annual British sports literary award that is dedicated to rewarding excellence in sports writing. Any full-length book that is predominantly about sporting is eligible to enter. The winner receives £29,000 that would contribute to the promotion, publicity and marketing of the book to encourage further sales. As an award that revolves around sport writing, it enables authors to showcase their knowledge in a specific, popular genre that has a huge audience and social network.

8. CMI Management Book of the Year

This award commends the best writers in the field of management writing. Held in association with the British Library, this award explores the most useful and inspiring books to discover authors with the potential to change management and leadership in the future. The winning book is recognized as ‘Management Gold’ and this will contribute to both the author and the books publicity and prestige. As it is a specialist genre, this award is highly acclaimed and any participants would benefit from the exposure and credibility it provides.

9. FT & McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award

Selected by a panel of expert judges, this prize is awarded to the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues. The winner receives a £30,000 prize, with £10,000 awarded to each runner-up, with the 2017 prize set to be awarded at a prestigious ceremony in New York on 6th November.



Our Awards

Our Brands